20th IEEE International Workshop on

High Performance Computational Biology (HiCOMB 2021)

May 17, 2021

Virtual Workshop

The size and complexity of genome- and proteome-scale data sets in bioinformatics continues to grow at a furious pace, and the analysis of these complex, noisy, data sets demands efficient algorithms and high-performance computer architectures. Hence high-performance computing has become an integral part of research and development in bioinformatics, computational biology, and medical and health informatics. The goal of this workshop is to provide a forum for discussion of latest research in developing high-performance computing solutions to data- and compute-intensive problems arising from all areas of computational life sciences.

This year's program will feature a keynote talk by Kathy Yelick from University of California, Berkeley and three invited talks, by Fabio Vandin from University of Padova, Anil Vullikanti from University of Virginia, and Sriram Sankararaman from University of California, Los Angeles. We received ten submissions to the workshop. Each submission was reviewed by four program committee members, and we accepted four submissions as full papers, one submission as a short paper, and one extended abstract. The authors of the accepted papers will also present at the workshop. We thank the paper authors, the program committee members, and the keynote and invited speakers for contributing to this year's high-quality technical program.

Workshop General Chairs:

Alba Cristina M. A. de Melo, University of Brasilia Ananth Kalyanaraman, Washington State University

Program Chair:

Mehmet Koyutürk, Case Western Reserve University

Program Committee:

Mohammed Alser, ETH Zurich
Ariful Azad, Indiana University
Mukul Bansal, University of Connecticut
Aydin Buluç, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; University of California, Berkeley
Somali Chaterji, Purdue University
Rayan Chikhi, Institut Pasteur
Ercüment Çiçek, Bilkent University
Saliya Ekanayake, Virginia Tech
Attila Gürsoy, Koc University
Daisuke Kihara, Purdue University
Penporn Koanantakool, Google
Georgios Kollias, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Johannes Langguth, Simula Research Laboratory
Erin Molloy, University of California, Los Angeles
Gaurav Pandey, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Enzo Rucci, National University of La Plata Matt Ruffalo, Carnegie Mellon University Bertil Schmidt, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz Michela Taufer, University of Tennessee Knoxville Sharma Thankachan, University of Central Florida Fabio Vandin, University of Padova Jaroslaw Zola, University at Buffalo