10th IEEE International Workshop on High Performance Computational Biology HiCOMB 2011

May 16, 2011 Sheraton Anchorage Hotel & Spa, Anchorage, Alaska, USA

in conjunction with the 25^{th} International Parallel and Distributed Processing Symposium

Message from the Workshop Chairs

Welcome to the 10th IEEE International Workshop on High Performance Computational Biology (HiCOMB). The interdisciplinary field of computational biology and bioinformatics is at the verge of several exciting possibilities owing to a rapid introduction of many disruptive experimental technologies to procure data. The resulting preponderance of data and the inherent complexity of processing have collectively placed an enormous demand on the computational methods that seek to model and analyze biological data — a demand that can be met only through a comprehensive embrace of high performance computing. The goal of this workshop is to provide a forum for discussion of the latest research in the design and development of high performance computing solutions to data- and compute-intensive problems arising from molecular biology and related life sciences.

The technical program was put together by Program Chair Ananth Kalyanaraman and twenty three members of a distinguished program committee. This year we received a total of twenty one submissions. Each paper was thoroughly reviewed by at least three members of the program committee. Based on the reviews, eleven papers were selected for presentation at the workshop and inclusion in the workshop proceedings. These papers cover a wide range of topics including sequence analysis, phylogenetics, genome-scale analysis, molecular dynamics, structure prediction and systems biology. The program also includes an invited keynote presentation by Prof. Rick Stevens from Argonne National Laboratory and University of Chicago.

We are grateful to the program committee members for submitting timely and thorough reviews. We wish to thank all the authors who submitted manuscripts to this workshop, without which this high quality technical program would not have been possible. We plan to continue this workshop in the forth-coming years and look forward to your continuing support in this endeavor.

Ananth Kalyanaraman, Srinivas Aluru, and David A. Bader

Workshop Organizers

Workshop Co-Chairs:

Srinivas Aluru (Iowa State University) David A. Bader (Georgia Institute of Technology)

Program Chair:

Ananth Kalyanaraman (Washington State University)

Program Committee:

Gagan Agarwal, Ohio State University, USA Eric Aubanel, University of New Brunswick, Canada Sanjukta Bhowmick, University of Nebraska, USA Umit Çatalyürek, Ohio State University, USA Vipin Chaudhary, University of Buffalo SUNY, USA Mark Clement, Brigham Young University, USA Wuchun Feng, Virginia Tech, USA Robert Germain, IBM Research, USA Martin Herbordt, Boston University, USA Heshan Lin, Virginia Tech, USA Kamesh Madduri, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA Harald Meier, Technische Universität München, Germany Chris Oehmen, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA Jacques Rougemont, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, France Nagiza Samatova, North Carolina State University, USA Bertil Schmidt, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore Alexandros Stamatakis, Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies, Germany Tjerk P Straatsma, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA Michela Taufer, University of Delaware, USA Chau-Wen Tseng, University of Maryland, College Park, USA Tiffani Williams, Texas A&M University, USA Jaroslaw Zola, Iowa State University, USA Albert Zomaya, The University of Sydney, Australia